Publish / Unpublish individual pages

I'd like to be able to un-publish individual pages, or at least prevent certain pages from being published.

A few scenarios I need this for:

  • When I begin creating a page, but need to make and publish changes to other pages in the meantime (and don't want my half-finished page/s publishing)
  • Pages I no longer want visible on the site (promotions, replaced content etc)
  • A/B Testing for marketing

Currently I'm preventing the pages being accessible by password protecting, and adding the nofollow/index meta to them, as they still appear on the sitemap.xml, even with password protection.

  • Dylan Johnston
  • Jan 18 2017
  • Shipped
  • Apr 24, 2018

    Admin Response

    Update 04/24/18:

    Hi! As of yesterday, we released the feature "Drafted pages" allowing you to draft static pages preventing it from being published to your live site. Learn more here

    Update 03/12/18:
    Hi Everyone! Though we haven't pushed out the ability to publish/unpublish individual static pages yet, we have added the ability to publish single CMS items. This will allow you to update these CMS pages without having to worry about any WIP changes in your project. Learn more here

  • Chris Carlston commented
    January 19, 2017 17:43

    So. Much. Want. NEED.

  • BSQ Effects commented
    January 23, 2017 18:10

    URGENT! Mostly for the first scenario, which I think is very common

  • Marcel Mölter commented
    February 8, 2017 14:03

    This would be sooo helpful! or just hide certain pages or mark them as drafts (same like in the CMS) :)

    Not sure about the actual waste of server infrastructure when publishing my project and webflow is processing and re-publishing all 20 pages of my project when i just changed a little something on page 1 :D 

  • Atma Krishna commented
    March 4, 2017 12:08

    I can't believe this is not a feature. I was shocked to discover it is missing. It's such a basic necessity that we take it for granted coming from the WordPress environment. How can designers and customers be expected to keep unfinished work live and public?

    Seems the lack of draft or unpublished pages feature is just a mean tactic to push users to pay for password protection.

    What's even more upsetting is that even if we pay for a template that comes with many ready-made pages, we can't hide the ones we don't currently need but may need later. Come on!

  • Cameron Roe commented
    July 19, 2017 23:33

    Please implement this!

  • Eeppi Nieminen commented
    August 7, 2017 15:25

    Definitely needed when one is working with templates. I don't want to publish all the template pages, but want to keep them to make my work easier if I design the site further or need to add elements later. 

  • Sara Pocius commented
    September 1, 2017 20:22

    This is an absolute must have. I've built in Wordpress, SquareSpace, Shopify and BigCommerce...they all have a draft state for pages. Now that my Webflow site is published, starting new pages is a huge pain. I do not like having unfinished work out there for someone to stumble upon. This is such a basic feature and hope that you are able to implement it soon. 

  • Casey Schorr commented
    September 6, 2017 17:48

    We need the ability to selectively withhold publishing a specific page or CMS collection item when publishing our site. The use-case is when a major feature change causes us to need to rewrite pages or CMS entries (help articles, feature pages, etc). The page or collection item we are re-working is already published, so when we go in and edit it, it works fine until someone on the team needs to publish the site (i.e they wrote a new blog post). At this time, our half rewritten help article gets published as well, which is a big problem.

    Because the CMS collection entry is already published, I can't revert to a draft or it takes the article down which doesn't work either. The only workaround is to "duplicate" the CMS entry or page and work on the duplicate in a draft state, but it's risky if you forget to change the URL later, you can break links. Copying content is also not a best-practice.

    What we'd like to be able to do is publish the entire site but withhold the specific collection entries from publish so the changes we're making to them don't go live until we specifically publish those collection entries.

  • Michael Wells commented
    October 2, 2017 09:23

    Very much looking forward to this. I have two use cases where this is currently a problem-

    BACKING UP PARTIALLY-BUILT PAGES - If I purchase a template, often I deploy the live site in stages.  For the first publish, I need to delete a lot of the on-page sections in the template, until the client has worked out if/how we want to use them effectively. To do this I clone the page to back it up, then delete those elements. Now I have two nearly-identical pages in my sitemap which means Google penalizes me for duplicate content and it may even promote my "hidden" backup page as being more content-rich than my intended public page.

    COLLECTION PAGES - About 20% of my collections are "type tables", such as "Event Type." These usually don't make any sense as standalone pages, there would never be a case where I'd want to link to them. Currently webflow doesn't appear to give me the option to suppress these pages? So I end up with a bunch of sitemap entries for pages that aren't usable. 

    I realize many search engines will respect no-index meta tags in the page head, but even Google still includes the page in it's directory (showing the title only). 

  • Jeff Blanchard commented
    November 6, 2017 02:37

    Wow, really this isn't an available option? CMS 101.

  • Stanislav Pykhtin commented
    November 30, 2017 19:26

    Need!!!

  • Rob Tourtelot commented
    January 10, 2018 20:50

    Desperately needed!

  • Stephanie Bishop commented
    January 16, 2018 23:55

    This is a strangely basic feature that for some reason is unavailable.... Please implement this!!

  • Craig Hynes commented
    January 30, 2018 01:44

    This would be very helpful especially as Templates based on a Collection can't be password protected yet.

  • Dan Dawson commented
    February 10, 2018 01:51

    I could use this today!

  • Rob Saville commented
    February 17, 2018 22:15

    This would be a super handy and useful addition, for many reasons. Would be useful to take any half finished/work-in-progress pages offline, until they are completed. Really does need adding - it’s essential!

  • Michael Naylor commented
    April 25, 2018 02:35

    Hallelujah!!!!! This one took waaayyyy too long and has been the cause of more problems than you can ever imagine but thanks guys, it’s truly appreciated now it’s here!!! :) the low hanging fruit is always the best!

    Have a great evening,

    Michael

  • Jonatan Saine commented
    September 26, 2018 00:28

    PLEASE! This is a huge need and I can see several ways of using this feature.