Ability to undo or discard changes for CMS editors

Clients often make mistakes when editing their website and the fact that they have to go back and completely redo what was there before seems unnecessary. I'm surprised this wasn't already on the wish list.

  • Jen Armstrong
  • Jan 21 2017
CMS / Editor
  • David Preece commented
    11 Apr 01:18am

    I, as an editor (ie a client) expected that my screenshot would be merged with the 'blank screen' placeholder. It wasn't. Now I want to undo my change and can't, even though I haven't published it. I can't even get rid of all the unpublished changes. It's just crap.

  • Hasan Luongo commented
    13 Mar 01:48pm

    honestly cant believe there is a no solution for this, how many dang votes does it take to make this most obvious feature ????

  • Joseph DiNardo commented
    6 Mar 08:26pm

    5 minutes in to my experience with webflow and discovering this I am about to migrate us off...

  • Kyle Hennessy commented
    27 Feb 10:00pm

    As a design/dev agency, we've moved away from recommending Webflow for our clients. This is one of many basic features missing that has made Webflow a poor experience. Hopefully these things are resolved in the future and we can come back.

  • Dmitry Kabirov commented
    21 Jan 07:08pm

    It's insane that this basic feature isn't implemented. I'm dying of embarrassment explaining this to the client, especially after promoting Webflow as the best CMS. The fact that we can't simply undo or discard changes without going through the absurd process of reverting to the previous version is infuriating—literally causing physical discomfort. Prioritize user-friendly features that actually make sense in the real world. This is a no-brainer, and the fact that it's still on the wishlist is just unbelievable. Thank you.

  • Corrina Gramma commented
    18 Jan 09:01am

    Pretty wild and embarrassing to me to have to explain to my clients that this isn't a functionality yet after bringing them over to Webflow from competitors.

    Webflow, can you at least inform us on why this isn't available yet? Would be helpful to know it's a difficult priority you're working on solving, rather than simply being overlooked. I adore Webflow and have built my entire business on it, but this goes against the quality and reliability I associate with Webflow!

  • Colin Martin commented
    4 Jan 05:44pm

    FFS Webflow .. why is this not sorted yet?

    It's embarrassing to offer the current editor to clients without undo !!!


  • Tayler Hollman commented
    30 Dec, 2023 03:33pm

    Cannot believe this doesn't exist. I made a bunch of changes and created some new pages. I thought I had unlinked from the parent on our navigation, but apparently the children underneath were still linked and I deleted all of our navigation by accident and cannot undo. I know I can restore from a snapshot, but now have to redo all my work. This seems like a table steaks feature - please help.

  • Nicolas Mondré commented
    30 Nov, 2023 09:28am

    2 out of 3 clients contact me after the handover, tell me that they have an unpublished change in the editor that they no longer want / don't know what it is, and ask me how to undo it.

    Then I have to give them an overly-complicated answer that they have to publish it, and I restore a previous backup of the site etc. etc... leading to SO MUCH frustration on both sides.

    For me, the lack of this feature makes the editor pretty much unusable, the experience for my clients after the handover becomes way worse (leading to less customer satisfaction overall), and it becomes extremely hard for me to keep the promise when selling a website project that it's gonna be "very convenient and easy to manage your website on your own after the handover".

    We desperately need this critical feature!!

  • Matias Jansson commented
    23 Nov, 2023 08:04am

    Could the Webflow staff at least give us some update why this has not been implemented?

    Very difficult to convince a client to use the editor that is missing this functionality.

  • Hrishi Mittal commented
    16 Nov, 2023 02:18pm

    Not having this undo functionality is such a pain. I'm building a power editor for Webflow CMS which will include this. If you want to try it out, please sign up here - http://pencms.com/

  • Matt Bacon commented
    13 Nov, 2023 07:42pm

    100% - I don't know how an offering like this can even get launched without this feature

  • Adam Bullock commented
    9 Nov, 2023 09:20pm

    Adding a comment that in my learning of Webflow versus other platforms like it, that the lack of this button to clear anything is baffling. I am now stuck on hour 24 not knowing exactly what I changed....and reverting a backup sounds like a ridiculous amount of work because we use CMS collections.

  • Mandy Hopp commented
    20 Sep, 2023 05:00pm

    Any ETA on this? It's mind-boggling that this basic feature has been missing for this long.

  • Noah Mitchell commented
    22 Aug, 2023 01:01pm

    This oversight does make the editor a lot more intimidating to my clients than it ought to be.

  • Andrea Chan commented
    16 Aug, 2023 03:06pm

    This is SUPER frustrating. Horrible user experience for CMS editors.

  • Alex Dixon commented
    7 Aug, 2023 01:13pm

    Clients request this feature a lot, probably because it features in other CMS's they've moved from.


    Even the ability to discard all changes would be helpful.

  • Gabriele Fronzé commented
    6 Jul, 2023 09:56am

    Also, my collaborators must have the possibility to suggest accepting their changes even if they have not the possibility to directly publish.
    Or I should have (as site admin) the possibility to see a list of suggestions and decide wether to apply them or not.

  • Colin Martin commented
    28 Jun, 2023 11:07am

    A client makes 5 small changes then realises the first was not a good idea. He has a list of the 5 small changes waiting to be published and he can't undo the first change or even better delete or cancel that change. He then he gets nervous and decides he does not want to change anything but he's stuffed. The changes are all there ready to be published. Even if he logs out and back in again, they're still there! How can he delete the changes from the publish list?

    Maybe I'm missing something simple but I don't know what to say to him. Surely this is a must have feature !!


  • Noah Mitchell commented
    22 Jun, 2023 12:53pm

    Clients currently have to get in touch with me to manually revert changes. This is making one of them second guess going with Webflow 🫤

  • Load older comments
  • +462