Auto Backups/Manual Backups for Editor(s)

Recently there was a bug that kept deleting and not saving the rich text content on collection pages (Live view).

The client wanted to restore back to a recent version () done by the editors to find out that it's not possible. Completing the project and making changes some time ago, the client has added multiple content changes ever since.

The current backup implementation only happens on the actions of the designer, meaning clients can lose content and can't revert back to anything besides the backups made since launching/last designer changes or per manual requests.

A solution could be adding tags on backups if done by designers or editors, giving editors the ability to restore to the previous editor-made backups and designer access to restore from both. Allowing editors the ability to make auto/manual backups the same way they publish the site. A great gateway to introducing more flexibility and customization down the line for Clients/Editor.


  • Dwaiter
  • Jan 7 2020