CMS: Option to make elements non-editable by default

Before I hand over to a client, I have to make sure to un-check 'collaborators can edit this element' on masses of page elements as I don't want them to be able to mess around with background images, text etc.. this is time consuming and I always miss some. In the worst cases, a client ends up trying to replace a background image or increase a headline by 10x the character count or some just gets confused in the editor who the edit options highlight.

It would make more sense for the default to be unchecked.. then we explicitly allow element sot be editable. 

  • Matthew Sanderson
  • Feb 6 2017
  • Michael Wells commented
    26 May 01:33am

    I've expanded on this here with a number of fixes in the "collaborators can edit" capability.

    https://wishlist.webflow.com/ideas/WEBFLOW-I-5092

  • Michael Wells commented
    25 May 01:43am

    Want to add two things-

    1. Shouldn't editability be hierarchical in the element hierarchy? If I mark the Menubar as "collab can NOT edit" I'd like the menu items to also be non-editable. Sections, DIVs, etc. I can't think of any scenario where a container should be NON-editable, the a child of it SHOULD. Particularly as the WYSIWYG editor is about text and images almost exclusively.

    2. Would be nice in the Designer to have a special view, where I can just see what's editable and what's not. Hit a button next to the eyeball top-left, and I'm seeing a grayscale version of my site, with sepia-colored areas that are editable. Something like that. Otherwise... it's impossible to tell before deployment what's editable and what's not. I get a lot of late night calls where a client broke a site by e.g. editing the text of a CMS-linked item and not realizing it would change ALL of them.

    3. Going further on that specific example, elements which are linked to a CMS-Reference content should NEVER be editable in the WYSIWYG editor. It's not at all clear to a user that those pieces of text/images are shared by multiple collection items. Make them go to the Collection tab to edit those, so they can pick a new Reference item, instead of accidentally renaming a Reference item incorrectly. You don't want a client changing 1,000 shoes from Blue to Red when they were just trying to change the pair they're looking at. I think this should be a hard lock, but at a minimum, when you data-bind an element to a CMS Reference field, simply uncheck the "collaborators can edit" field to help protect against this kind of catastrophe.

  • Colin Martin commented
    5 Apr 10:38am

    Wow, I can't believe that this does not seem to have been sorted by now.

  • Bad 66 Studio commented
    19 Feb 08:23am

    Any solution - the simpler it is - would help here:

    • Uncheck all by default

    • A setting under the Editor settings that allows us to check/uncheck all (set the default).

    • Make the setting cascade down to child elements. So for instance, if you uncheck the Section element, all its children would be unchecked. Possibly the ability to uncheck the body element to check/uncheck all elements at once.

  • Tyler Wessel commented
    3 Feb 06:47pm

    This is a much needed feature. It definitely takes a while to uncheck everything to hand off to the client. As another poster said, if not be default, being able to choose to apply the check/uncheck to an entire class or single element (much like in interactions) would be extremely beneficial and time saving.

  • Manuel Engler commented
    4 Nov, 2021 12:49pm

    Yeeeees! PLEASE make it unchecked by default. It´s crazy, I just had to manually deactivate this checkbox literally hundreds of times! It does not make any sense to give a collaborator all that access – they could mess up everything.

    Alternatively (if deactivating by default is not possible for whatever reason):
    It would also help massively if an element would inherit the setting from a parent element.

  • Au Courant commented
    26 Aug, 2021 08:49am

    Definitely needed for serious client work.

  • Gregor Middendorf commented
    11 Aug, 2021 09:34am

    I was doing a search and found this topic. I fully agree with everyone before me. Its absolutely necessary to be able to make a global option to make elements non-editable by default. I have not found this option anywhere in 2021.

  • Stefko Kruse commented
    3 Aug, 2021 10:08am

    it's insane that this is turned on by default. An untrained customer can't just customize things on the website. I would at most have individual texts customized and would like to be able to individually set what the customer can customize and what not. i now have to uncheck the box for what feels like thousands of elements.

    please take out the collorator check mark in the basic settings.


    Thank you

  • Stefko Kruse commented
    3 Aug, 2021 09:42am

    Yes absolutely! it must be so that this option is generally turned off and you select only the elements that should be editable for the client.

    that would be very helpful if this would be changed.

  • Tommy Asselin commented
    23 Apr, 2021 06:10pm

    I agree as well. I'm now on that task, as a new user of webflow, and was searching for an "uncheck all" option. Reading the comments and seeing it has been a request for over 4 years is crazy. Unless I'm missing something and it has been added in the last months... Back on the task, a few hundreds of checkboxes to uncheck...

  • Scott Hannon commented
    23 Feb, 2021 07:35pm

    I agree with all of the previous comments. Also would be nice to be able to uncheck items and anything nested underneath would automatically be unchecked (or checked) or have the choice of individual item and hierarchy.

  • Keven Lupien commented
    10 Nov, 2020 11:25pm

    Would be great as an option in settings to choose if it's checked/unchecked by default but if that's not an option, then definitely unchecked by default.

  • Bogdan Darev commented
    26 May, 2020 11:23pm

    We're having to uncheck everything now as well. We will build this in our workflow, but when we started out we didn't know we would be handing over access to selected editors. This default feature would really save time.

  • Joe Villanueva commented
    16 Mar, 2020 03:03am

    Please, please, please do this. Unchecking everything is insanity.

    That, plus not being able to select multiple items, FFS!!!

  • Andres Herrera commented
    10 Mar, 2020 08:55pm

    yes, this is just an check box!!

  • Joe Davies commented
    20 Feb, 2020 12:28pm

    This NEEDS to be sorted. 

  • Morgan Leahy commented
    22 Aug, 2019 07:11pm

    Not done yet?

  • Paweł Nejman commented
    23 Feb, 2019 08:11pm

    It still has not been repaired? <facepalm>

  • Alex Dixon commented
    23 Feb, 2019 03:37pm

    +1

    A switch to choose your preference for this would suit everyones needs.

  • Load older comments
  • +52