Granular permissions (per team or per project)

Add granular permissions for team members on a site by site basis, instead of on the account level.  Specific users to work on specific projects, in specific roles.

  • Waldo Broodryk
  • Jan 11 2017
  • In backlog
  • Rowan Hartsuiker commented
    January 17, 2017 20:52

    For sure!! I sometimes need one freelancer to work on 1 specific project only, without him/her seeing my entire collection of websites. My job is top level secret stuff!! No, but really...would be cool to have this ability.

  • W Jan commented
    March 07, 2017 14:24

    I run into this issue all the time. I have freelancers working on my projects all the time and I don't want them to have access to everything under my dashboard

  • Jaro Quastenberg commented
    May 17, 2017 07:15

     

    I experienced the same behavior a lot of the others from the merged ideas discovered. Content that has been changed in the designer and only published to the .io domain showed up on the live site after a content editor published the live site using the editor.

    Actually we wanted to use the .io domain for testing purposes and then publish to the live site if the client is good with what he or she sees.

    We definitely need a way of working on the site before going live. Thats daily business between a webdesigner and a client.

  • Vishu Rao commented
    July 07, 2017 10:12

    Very useful when you have freelancers helping you with your websites.

  • Casey Schorr commented
    August 31, 2017 21:21

    We need this on the "editor" side, to allow writers to create or update content without the ability to publish. The writers submit their posts/ edits to an editor for review & publishing.

  • Vincent Bidaux commented
    October 04, 2017 08:16

    I'd like to stop having to deal with my clients credentials and browser auths.

    Also, when cross site copy paste is unveiled, we're going to be frustrated if we can't copy paste components from our stuff to clients stuff without having to transfer a site first.

  • Michael Naylor commented
    October 09, 2017 21:13

    This is really important to us. I would like to restrict access and visibility of sites and folders within a team account to certain team members. With sites being deleted permanently on Webflow, there is zero redundancy if a single of or an entire portfolio of sites is deleted accidentally or maliciously by a team member. Additionally, it is important that user based permissions are added to restrict junior users/freelances/etc from publishing to the live site (on a custom domain), restricted from editing/deleting/having visibility of sites as appropriate.

  • Alex Tapper commented
    February 01, 2018 18:43

    Would also love this feature so clients can add me to help fix small-scope issues (5min - 1 hr) on their site.

    Right now we're using screen-share "remote takeover" as a workaround -- but it requires that we are both on the computer at the same time and is a little laggy. 

  • Jeremy Meyer commented
    May 16, 2018 17:14

    I believe this is covered in some of the merged wishlist items but I would like to see granularity that allows me to set a scope so an editor can only modify a specific CMS collections.

  • Gonsalves Media commented
    August 05, 2018 04:36

    Lots of great ideas here. I would love to see a lot of these added into a granular permissions overhaul.

    This is a must for Webflow team accounts and would be a fantastic CMS 2.0. 

  • Andrew Leyland commented
    August 11, 2018 20:55

    Need this big time to maintain control of staff/freelancer access

  • Greg Gruenwald commented
    October 26, 2018 07:52

    Hello everyone...

    This week I signed up for a Team Account.  Immediately I needed what is being referred to here as "granular permissions" on a per folder (site) basis to prohibit freelancers from having access to my entire company!  I cannot see where that is possible...yet...right?

    If it is not a formal capability within Webflow as of 10/26/2018, how are any of you handling this situation? 

    Lastly:
    Again, one strategy I had was to put all my company's sites into my personal folder and then transfer them into team status to be addressed by the freelancer...and then once the work was completed, transfer them back to personal.  However, that would require that hosting be disengaged and then re-engaged when the work is completed.  Surely there's a better way! 

    Thank you, everyone.

    Greg Gruenwald
    Designed Communication Processes
    Chicago, IL 

  • Bailey Simrell commented
    November 30, 2018 16:44

    This can be two fold I think. Granular team permissions are one thing.. but what about granular editing permissions in the CMS editor? There should be different permission levels for different user types. For example, a blog. You would want writers in a specific content category to be able to access their own blogs, but not be able to post to other sections of the site. 

  • Michael Naylor commented
    02 Mar 18:12

    Any update on this guys? This is essential for team account security without necessitating multiple team accounts (kind of defeating the purpose).

  • Monika commented
    03 Apr 19:14

    I would like to have a policy where if a project is transferred to a different account I'm informed beforehand, and I would have to approve it first (same way if email or password is being changed - I get an email and need to confirm the change). 

  • Hamish Maclean commented
    21 Jun 00:59

    In addition when a project is transferred to a client, a designer should be able to retain access to the designer. The simple fact is Webflow is behind shopify and wordpress when it comes to a client being able to own the site and invite collaborators in to the site. I go into shopify and I see sites that I manage. 

  • Alan McDonnell commented
    02 Sep 16:49

    Just throwing my 2 cents in here as I think it could do with a bump and is becoming an issue when I introduce clients to the CMS. Maybe a "push for review" button should be introduced so lower-level editors can't accidentally publish unwanted changes. Ideally would love to assign roles with different levels of access (only to blog collection or full admin access etc.)